A New Look for this Blog


It’s been a long time since I updated. Why? In part because so many outlets already provide this type of news and I’ve had the opportunity to become more immersed in these stories. I’ll still cover, from time to time, news I think mainstream media and alternative media outlets are missing out on that I find important. That’s not completely going away.

But the focus of this blog is shifting. It’ll now focus on close readings of books (primarily children’s books, for the time being). This focus is inspired, in part, by the book Learning from the Left: Children’s Literature, the Cold War, and Radical Politics in the United StatesIt’s also inspired by my recent opportunity to read more children’s books, and by a recent viewing of the Oscar-nominated short “The Gruffalo’s Child” (which made me so angry).

The first post will go up later today or tomorrow. Please share these posts with your friends, start a discussion with me about the books (please, my main rule for this is no name-calling), or with each other in the comment thread. I do ask that you refrain from name-calling — I will delete those posts.

 

Leave a Reply

